Bronze Member
Feb 21, 2006
Pittsburgh, PA
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Whites MXT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Upon the suggestion of Jeffro, I moved this topic to this section. Thanks

Hello all, my name is Jared and I now live in Arlington, VA. I started me hobby in the eastern panhandle of WV, prime CW territory. I have a White's MXT with the standard coil. I don't get out as much as I would like to since I moved to Arlington. I live in an apartment complex which is in a very rural community. I have switched my techniques to Coin and Jewelry, however, I am still learning. I have a couple of questions:

1. I hunted in a park yesterday, machine on Coin/Jewelry mode, hoping to find coins. I got a lot of coin readings and discovered that it was all trash, pull tabs, bottle caps, etc. Is there a way to better distinguish with the MXT, or do I just dig everything?

2. I still hunt in WV as well, but as you all know, CW relics are much deeper than coins and such. Which coil do you recommend I use for relic hunting? Will the one I have now suffice?

Any help would be appreciated as I am very excited about improving my skills as a treasure hunter. My degree in an Anthropology, with an emphasis in Archaeology, so you can all tell that I am very passionate about this hobby and hope one day to make it my profession.

Regards,

Jared

Upvote 0

The Beep Goes On

Silver Member
Jan 11, 2006
Houston, TX
Detector(s) used
CTX3030, Excalibur II, V3i, TRX
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting