New Prospector from NC

rockheadhunter421

Mar 25, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello,
I'm new to prospecting for gold. I have been reading some good threads on this forum, I've been researching the Carolina Slate Belt and finding info about how gold deposits here. I live in Yadkin Co., NC but I have a friend that leaves in Stanly Co. near the Cabarrus line and the Rocky River (close to the Reed Gold Mine). He is new to gold prospecting too and has invited me to come to his land to see if we can find some next week. He has just bought some pans and a Whites detector. We believe that his land has potential with a stream on it feeding into the Rocky River and possibly some ancient creek beds. We decided to start small (panning, looking for quartz) and hoping to work our way to expose the bedrock to finding the source of a larger deposit(s). We are not sure how well this is going to turn out but I know we won't know unless we try. Overall, I'm wanting to expand my knowledge of finding gold in NC. Anyone here live near the Rocky River or have any tips/stories about gold prospecting in that particular area of NC? I would really enjoy hearing what yall have to say. Thanks and happy hunting to all!

Upvote 0

DynoGuy

Nov 10, 2013
Statesville, NC
Detector(s) used
Sluices: Bazooka 30" Prospector, Bazooka Super Mini and a folding A52 clone. Homemade 12" x 24" Miller table.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Welcome to Tnet. I've only been prospecting for a little over a year and don't have info for that area, mostly I go out to Uwharrie NF or a buddies place in Troutman just to test new equipment or to dial something in, found gold in URE but not in Troutman. Good luck.

OP
OP
R

rockheadhunter421

Mar 25, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting