New Prospector in San Diego

Sample Pan Dan

Bronze Member
Oct 20, 2012
Bostonia,Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all from beautiful San Diego. I am fairly new to prospecting. I have panned and sluiced a few times years ago in the mother load country north of Yosemite. I also did a little digging and panning in GA as well in the watershed coming down from Dahlonega. I haven't had a pan in my hand in a few years though I do still have one, and some buckets and some garden tools. I have done a little research looking for something fairly close to the house and have found that there is some public land in the Laguna area of Cleveland nf. Any locals with any suggestions, recommendations? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also what is this "pan and hand" I read about? Can I truly not take a shovel and my bucket/ classifier out onto those creeks?
Thanks

Upvote 0

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Get on Google and Bing, and type in San Diego Gold Prospecting Clubs. Best of luck to you!

OP
OP
Sample Pan Dan

Sample Pan Dan

Bronze Member
Oct 20, 2012
Bostonia,Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks Terry,
Ya I've done my web research, planning on going to a SPMA meeting in the coming weeks. They have lots of great reviews and properties, and they're just a few miles from the house. :-)

MrLee

Mar 25, 2012
Tokyo & OC
Detector(s) used
Google Earth, BS Detector, $$
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Drywall, welcome to the forums. Terry has the best advice. There are people at the clubs who can and will answer all your questions. Best of luck down there. Seems the gold gets better as you go north from SD, to LA, to SAC.