new/small scale CRHers! whats your strategy?

chrissm14

Apr 28, 2013
Ive been Crhing for about 3 months now and its pretty addicting. I only get about 50 $ worth of rolls every few days, so I was wondering if anyone else does it on a small scale like me? I usually get dimes and nickels but occasionally quarters and pennies. So far I've found 3 silver quarters and 2 silver dimes. I found one quarter in the vending machine at work, and I also found a war nickel in another vending machine. Usually I will open a roll, rim check a few then go through each one and look for anything unusual and put them in a small jar and reroll the rest. I keep nickels dated 1959 and earlier, and any coins that have errors. Does anyone else collect errors too? I usually look at the unusual ones with my loupe later and decide to keep it or not. I do find that I have trouble identifying double dies from machine doubling, does anyone have any tips? My loupe is 10x should I get something stronger? Please share your thoughts /strategies everyone!

Upvote 0

BoredBankTeller

Jun 28, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I think that you'd be best served looking through pennies and nickels if you're doing about $50 per clip. In my experience I have found a silver quarter in about every 50 rolls searched or so, so I would imagine that you'd be getting skunked a lot if you were going through a handful of rolls at a time.

OP
OP
C

chrissm14

Apr 28, 2013
Usually what I do is get like 6 rolls of dimes and 10 nickel rolls, but sometimes I get a roll or 2 of quarters. I keep the ATB quarters andterritory ones that I find. With dimes tho I've Been pretty lucky the last 2 times I've gone to my bank I've found a silver dime each time. I plan on buying a box of pennies at some point that should keep me busy for a while lol

Thorne

Dec 5, 2012
Michigan
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting