New to Alaska,

iamfree

May 1, 2012
nowhere
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
New to alaska here. Im an avid relic/coin/jewelry hunter. Im new to the gold hunting deal, and would love if some experienced Alaskan hunters can give me a kick start on links, numbers, info on where to find any details about the legality of where i can sweep and all that good stuff so i dont get surrounded by troopers with ticket books in hand. Im in the Valley. im interested in just the legal aspect of things, not the technicals of the hunting, that i could learn gracefully on my own. I figure id start out with not getting fined or shot. ;)
...also, i did a bit of research, but after having 30 tabs open on my screen trying to sift through it all, i figured id just ask.

Last edited:

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You'd have to be a bit more specific. There are different rules for different sites. Federal, state, county, local, all have their own laws. It's best to just look up the government agency in question and see what the ordinance book says. If no mention of metal detecting, be responsible by making clean recoveries and have fun!

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
i see youre in san diego, thats a bit far....... i was specific. im in the valley. the valley is a well known nickname for an area in AK. i would assume things are quite different here due to its rich prospecting history. id like any links that can be thrown my way , ...