New to coin roll hunting

jpuck

Tenderfoot
Feb 14, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I am new to coin roll hunting. I have bought a few rolls from the bank before and found only 1 silver dime. Today I got my first $1000 box of halves from my local credit union thanks to my tax return. I pulled 5 rolls to search at work and found one 40%. I was so excited. After coming home and searching all of the rolls, I came up with a total of 15 40% halves. Not too bad for about 90 minutes of searching. I think I am hooked. It seems like that the rolls from the credit union came from US Bank. I will turn them into another credit union tomorrow and then order another $1000 from BofA and see how that turns out.

Upvote 0

fistfulladirt

Gold Member
Feb 21, 2008
Great Lakes State
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
dirtfishing
Primary Interest:
Other
Really good! I say that because my average has been about 1 - 40% per 2 boxes, for the last 2 years or so.

Wilmingtonsilver

Sep 6, 2012
SE North Carolina
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I want to know where you are getting boxes of $1000 in halves? Maybe that is why all the boxes of $500 in halves have not had any silver lately. They are in these mysterious $1000 boxes!

OP
OP
J

jpuck

Tenderfoot
Feb 14, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
$1000 boxes

I want to know where you are getting boxes of $1000 in halves? Maybe that is why all the boxes of $500 in halves have not had any silver lately. They are in these mysterious $1000 boxes!

I am in Oregon and I get them from First Tech Fed credit union. They come in $500 bags of rolls and the min they will order is $1000. Sorry if I used the incorrect terminology, still new to this. I also just ordered $1000 from BofA today and should have them in a week. Will let you know how that turns out.

AdDicted2Ag

Bronze Member
Jan 24, 2012
Detector(s) used
Etrac
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting