New to detecting...a few questions?

apetastic

Tenderfoot
Jan 21, 2016
NC
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Gold Digger (I'm a newbie!)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey! I just got my first metal detector for Christmas. It's not a fancy one, but I just wanted to try it out. I'm also into researching family history--I think I just really love solving mysteries and uncovering/discovering things--so metal detecting falls right into place. :)

I'm in Eastern NC on land that's been in my family since the early 1900s when my great grandfather bought it. There is farmland behind (also ours). They just harvested soybeans a couple weeks ago so I don't worry about damaging any crops right now. Is this a good time to go in the field? Is it best to go out after they till the soil?

ALSO--there was a tornado that went through here in 1984. It destroyed my parents' home, took a grain silo all the way to the back of the field (still laying in the trees back there). Point is, I think there might could be some interesting things back there from the tornado, but there's also probably a LOT of trash from the tornado. Is it even worth it? So far all I've found back there was metal wire or flimsy pieces of tin or something. Just trash.

On a brighter note, I did find a coin buried in my mom's yard...a whole penny! (ha!) It was thrilling pulling out money (especially knowing my grandfather used to bury change back in the day) and then I saw it was from 1985 (let down!). haha!

Thanks for your time reading this! Any advice would be greatly appreciated (except "get a better detector" because I am a teacher and can't afford it at this time--haha!!)

Crappies-n-Coins

Bronze Member
Nov 25, 2015
N/W MS
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Vaquero, DeLeon, Cibola(s), Compadre, Fisher 1265x, Garrett II PinPointer
Primary Interest:
Other
Welcome! :hello:

There's only one way to find-out if there are any "goodies" in the fields waiting for you to find them.

Detectorist.CO

Jan 18, 2016
Denver, Co