New to Detecting...New to the Site

WellsCreek

Tenderfoot
Mar 15, 2011
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
There always has to be a new guy in the crowd..gues that's me today.
As my post says I'm new to detecting, I purchased my first ddetector this weekend; Garrett Ace 250.
So far so good! I would really appreciate any solid advice regarding techniques, places to hunt and/or any information that allow me stay this interested. I also appreciate any advice to keep me from picking up any bad habits.
I bought a house last year (Ohio) that dates back to the late 1880's and this 2800 sq. ft. 2-story house used to be a tavern/saloon and a brothel. The yard is about .40 acres and I'm convinces there is some history in the ground! I live very close to an old Indian settlement and Historic site. I have found some clad but nothing of any real interest or value.
Any advise, questions or directions is appreciated!
- Thanks..

Upvote 0

CRUSADER

Gold Member
May 25, 2007
ENGLAND
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II v0.6 with 11" Coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome :hello:

If I were you, I would research ploughed farmland which once housed old buildings. Simple :wink: :read2:

MKnTenn

Jul 30, 2010
Primary Interest:
Other
For some people it takes alot of time digging before they find something valuable, others seem to get the good stuff from the start. I hope you are the latter, you're in a great spot to start, an old house with history, you know something great has to be in your yard. I'd check out the area around the house too. GL and HH

bgriffin

Jan 2, 2011
Detector(s) used
Garret Ace 350
Welcome to the site, you will have a ball with the Ace.

lennon631

May 3, 2010
Long Island NY
Detector(s) used
Whites M6, Garrett ProPointer