New to hobby,I got Questions,You got answers.

J

jimg

Hello all
I'm really new at this and trying to learn.I have a Radio Shack Discovery 2000 that i bought from a estate sale 3 or 4 weeks ago. It was new with manual.Is it really like the Quick Draw? it has no depth read out. I spent most of last week trying to learn how to use it and yesterday went to an old farm that is over 150 years old. A new home has been built where the old home stood,so i went out about 30 to 40 feet and found nothing but junk. but i only had 2 hours to look and being new i was digging everything. so now to get to my questions
1) Is this detector worth using at all ? I really think I'm going to love the hobby, Ive always wanted a detector but other things always have had to come first.So is it worth trying to learn on this machine or will it just mess me up when i do get a top of the line detector? Is it really like the Quick Draw?
2) I know that around Christmas I'll be buying my first NEW detector. I'm 99% sure ill buy from Kellyco.And i think i want a Whites. I know i want depth readout,target I.D., I want to coin/jewelry/relic hunt with it.And something easy to use. So if you had around $500-600 dollars to spend and knowing what you know now, what brand and model would you buy.
3)Is there anyone here that is from southeast Ohio? I would like to talk with some one from here about what there finding and where. I live in Meigs county (100 miles southeast of Columbus) along the Ohio River.bakergeol told me some about when he used to live here several years ago and did give me some pointers and i thank him for it.
3) what is the best way to dig and what is the best tools to use? Most of my digging will be in yards.
I really like the forum and have learned a lot from you all in just a few days by reading. i thank you for your time and please help a new guy. Jim

Upvote 0

comfyinvermont

Bronze Member
Feb 8, 2004
Vermont