New to metal decting what brand and model is the best to start with

Tom Slick

Jul 21, 2012
Mesa AZ
Detector(s) used
XP Deus & Deus II, Makro Multi Kruzer, White's DFX w/18" Arrow Coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What's a "reasonable price?" $200? $1,000?

Tee1up

Sep 9, 2012
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Outlaw
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First Detector...

I am brand new to metal detectors but after some research here and on youtube I settled on the Tesoro Outlaw. I am absolutely thrilled with it.

I wanted something I could grow into and this machine (with three coils) didn't break the bank but does offer a lot of serious features. For me, it came down to a choice between this unit and the Vaquero. I would suggest you take the same path. Set a limit on what you want to spend, watch the videos, read the field guides, get a feel for the type of detecting you want to do and then go for it. Be careful with department store and sporting goods store brands as they always over promise.

My only problem to date is I should have bought a pin-pointer and a better digging tool right away. The first time you dig up a cool relic or an old coin, all bets are off and you may be seriously hooked. Right now I am covering a hill area that is used in the winter by sleds and tobogans and not at all in the summer, but decades ago sat outside the city and supported a small hospital for Small Pox victims. I feel like I am walking around with a time machine. I'm not racking up the dollars but it is fascinating.

If you do go for it, just remember to read up on responsibilities and always leave an area like you found it.

Let us know which direction you took!:thumbsup:

Im new to metal detecting and was wondering what the best model and brand would be for a rookie like myself for a reasonable price ???

OP
OP
C

Chevelle4ever

Tenderfoot
Sep 24, 2012