New to metal detecting

The Water guy

Mar 19, 2024
Hi . I'm new to metal detecting. Got a metal detector for christmas and started researching it out and have learned that you have to follow the code of ethnics and in the past 3 months have searched some fields found old metal.only.
However I hope to metal detect a house and there's nothing that I have read yet discusses any procedure to metal detect house . Houses have service lines : water ,sewer and gas lines .
In search are they apart of the area or to be searched. I believe in dont "assume" and "kis"-Keep it Simple . Well any information reply would be appreciated.

Upvote 0

robertk

Bronze Member
May 16, 2023
Missouri
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II
White's Spectra v3i
Garrett Ultra GTA 1000
Whites Coinmaster
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The lines for houses should be buried deep enough you won't detect them. But sometimes they aren't. If you get a signal that seems to keep repeating in a straight line, there's a good chance that's a pipe or wire.

Bucket Lister

Dec 20, 2023
Detector(s) used
XP Dēus II
XP MI-6
XP WSA II-XL
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
However I hope to metal detect a house and there's nothing that I have read yet discusses any procedure to metal detect house . Houses have service lines : water ,sewer and gas lines .
In search are they apart of the area or to be searched. I believe in dont "assume" and "kis"-Keep it Simple . Well any information reply would be appreciated.
As robertk mentioned, depending on where you are geographically, most utilities should be too deep to detect, and they'll likely run in long lines (I have detected shallow electrical lines and drains).

Also be aware that above-ground utilities (electric, phone, cable, etc.) can produce EMI that can be picked up by your detector.