New to Minelab

Hutch911

May 19, 2008
Linden, VA
Detector(s) used
Minelab GPX5000, Whites MXT, Garrett AT PRO
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Hello I am new to Minelab detectors and I won a GPX5000 (Thanks Mike From Woodland Detectors) and Love it so far. My only gripe is I have been told and have read that the coils are not water proof. My question is has anyone used silicon to seal them? not that I would put under water but I do dig in the rain not by choice or get heavy dew from the fields.

Thanks for your help.

Also does anyone here use a E trec in the virgina hot dirt? thinking about that as a back up.

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hutch911 said:
Hello I am new to Minelab detectors and I won a GPX5000 (Thanks Mike From Woodland Detectors) and Love it so far. My only gripe is I have been told and have read that the coils are not water proof. My question is has anyone used silicon to seal them? not that I would put under water but I do dig in the rain not by choice or get heavy dew from the fields.

Thanks for your help.

Also does anyone here use a E trec in the virgina hot dirt? thinking about that as a back up.

You won a NEW GPX5000 :o You lucky dog..... I will trade you one of my Excals for it........ :laughing7:

Gonehunting

Bronze Member
Jan 1, 2007
Oklahoma
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
CURRENTLY USING: Minelab Go-Find 60, Nokta Fors CoRe, Macro Racer, Whites MXT All Pro, Fisher F19, Garrett AT Gold, Minelab CTX3030, XP Deus.
USED: Garrett ATX, Garrett AT Pro, Minelab E-Trac, Minelab
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Welcome the family and one heck of a prize...

blw

Greenie
Oct 28, 2007
Opelika Alabama
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE