New to the hobby! Hunting Prospect Park?

toughturtle

Apr 30, 2013
Detector(s) used
Ace 250 - DD and Sniper
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello everyone. Total newbie here!

I just mailed my permit application to the city of New York and ordered a machine this morning. Anyone know the timeframe of getting the permit?

I was wondering if anyone has suggestions on good spots to begin with.
Are there any good spots in the Brooklyn area, specifically the Park Slope, Gowanus, Red Hook, Windsor Terrace, etc areas? Or are parks pretty much it within the city.

Thanks for any insight anyone can give. I have searched the forums and have learned alot already, but wanted to ask these few questions just in case someone local could help.

This is, hopefully, going to be a great weekend hobby to do with the kids. Or without them, who knows. Im excited.

Todd

Last edited:
Upvote 0

GeekNJ

Mar 10, 2013
NJ
Detector(s) used
XP Deus & MI-6, Bounty Hunter Land Ranger & Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to the site and hobby! I'm not far from you in Northern NJ but can't answer any of your questions. There is a NY forum and sub-forums so you might search there as well as ask the same question there. New York

David

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting