New to the Hobby

JGRDHS

Feb 4, 2011
Belleville IL
Good evenening everyone; I just wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading the posts on here; they have proved both educational and entertaining. I am very new to this, and just bought my first metal detector. It is a White's 6000 di pro sl. It's embarassing how cheap I got it. However, from what I understand, it's a fairly reliable older model with many good reviews. I was wondering if anyone here had any thoughts on this particular device? I am still learning about its usage as it came with the original manual. It definetely works; a quick trip toa local park netted 42 cents worth of change. Nothing too old or interesting, but nice to see that it worked.

I am in the Belleville IL area (southern IL, near St. Louis) and would love to hear from anyone in the area. This recent weather has been brutal, but has provided some down time at work (Illinois State Trooper) where I can scout some possible hunting grounds and do some research. I have a lot of good thoughts and potential sites if it would just STOP SNOWING!

East St. Louis is very close, but is an absolute safety nightmare. There are many good abandoned properties, old sites, and long existing public parks and fields....but not the safest environment. I can legally be armed, but certainly wouldn't mind if someone was with me who was also armed; legally or not!

Regardless, good luck to everyone in 2011. Once I get these coins cleaned up a little without damaging them, I will post a picture.

-James

Lowbatts

Gold Member
Jul 1, 2003
Elgin
Detector(s) used
Fishers 1235X-8" CZ-20/21-8" F-70-11"DD GC1023
Welcome aboard James!

Every time I've passed E. St. Louis it just looks like that perfect mix between the hottest ghost town and some place I'd rather not be. I know there's some awesome good md'ers just across the bridge there and they are prolific finders of the goods.