Tenderfoot
Nov 17, 2006
Cary, NC
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi Everyone,

I'm a complete newbie, so I have a few questions.

1. What's the best way to get your feet wet in this hobby? Do you buy a cheap metal detector? Do you rent one to see if you like it?

2. I live west of Chicago. Does anyone know of any good places to try in the Western Chicago Suburbs - around Naperville/Aurora/West Chicago area?

Finally, if there's a "primer" on this site and I missed it, I apologize. Please point me in the right direction if so.

Thanks!
- Kbrown

Upvote 0

bakergeol

Bronze Member
Feb 4, 2004
Colorado
Detector(s) used
GS5 X-5 GMT
Generally the newbies go for a inexpensive first detector such as the Garrett Ace 250. A quality machine for $200. Some of the experienced users may actually recommend a mid priced detector because if you become addicted you will upgrade. However the big factor is YOU. Do you have the patience and perseverance to make this YOUR HOBBY? For a lot of people their first detector is their last. In those cases a minimum initial investment was a good idea.
No I don't recommend renting a detector- You need a lot of time to give this hobby a go.

I suggest you join a metal detecting club in your area.

George

bobberdown

Greenie
Nov 23, 2006
South Central Missouri
Detector(s) used
Whites XLT
Welcome to the world of digging worms and Penny's. You will love the hobby and on some day's you will want to throw all your equipment in the trash.
If you have any city parks that allow you to metal detect in them, a good place to start is around the play area and the benches where people set and change falls from their pockets.
I might suggest you get the following items to practice on in your yard.
about 6 wood paint stirring sticks.
1 penny
1 dime
1 pull tab
1 nickle
1 quarter
1 half dollar
1 screw on soda cap
1 piece of rusted metal
1 nail rusted
1 silver clad earring
1 small gold item.
1 piece of Aluminum