Newbie here - first time using a sluice!

jsulateskee

Dec 14, 2017
Colorado
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Tesoro Mojave & Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I recently acquired the Angus Mackirk Eureka sluice and will be using it for the first time this Saturday. I am fairly new to prospecting and this will be my first time using a sluice. I've been watching a lot of YouTube videos on where and how to use a sluice but would love to get some tips, comments, suggestions, etc... on the best way to use this specific sluice. I've heard that this model of AM is a bit on the larger size when it comes to sluices especially for a beginner to be using but I got a great deal on it so I will make due. If anyone has this specific model or pictures/videos that would be helpful in how to set it up and such I'd love to see them.

Thanks in advance!

RTR

Gold Member
Nov 21, 2017
Smith Mt. Lake Va.
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Liberator
Falcon MD-20
Blue Bowl
Angus MacKirk sluice
Miller Table
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
A few thinks. Proper water flow is critical.Not too much .Not too little.Classify ALL material going into it.On my Angus I classify to 1/4". Great sluice enjoy it.And good luck. :)

OP
OP
J

jsulateskee

Dec 14, 2017
Colorado
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Is there a way to determine how much water flow is the correct amount or will I just have to play around with it? In some pictures/videos I've seen the sluice is slanted and in some it's almost level/straight, is water flow what matters the most? Perfect, a 1/4 classifier is exactly what I have - got lucky on that one.

RTR

Gold Member
Nov 21, 2017
Smith Mt. Lake Va.
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Liberator
Falcon MD-20
Blue Bowl
Angus MacKirk sluice
Miller Table
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting