Newbie here

Mamanay

Oct 11, 2006
Hi everyone, newbie here from Missouri, right outside the St Louis area. Hubby recently bought me a metal detector. Our 12 yr old son J, and I had a ball at Myrtle Beach a couple of weeks ago. Interestingly enough though we found our biggest treasure without the use of the MD. J found a gold ring with several diamonds in it. The ring looks very expensive. We notified the resort we were staying at, of our find and left contact info. I have also checked the newspaper from the area to see if anyone posts a classified ad, but no luck so far. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas on how we can locate the owner of this ring.

Also I would love some hints, ideas, just some words of wisdom from those with experience on metal detecting. I think this is going to be something that my son and I can do together that well help us to bond. We adopted J from the foster care system I love him to death, I think this treasure hunting thing is going to be that memory building thing that parents talk about for years. I am so excited. How do I find places to take him so that he doesn't get discouraged with our hunts? Also can we legally dig in public parks and such?

Looking forward to reading all your posts and learning from everyone here.

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to TreasureNet Mamanay

tinpan

Silver Member
Sep 4, 2004
Eaglehawk
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
GPX
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
HI MAMANAY, WELCOME TO THE FORUM AND HOPE TO READ YOUR STORIES AND ABOUT YOUR FINDS.congrats on your first gold ring.

THE IMFAMOUS TINPAN [aussie]

Night Stalker

Bronze Member
Dec 17, 2004
Florida
Detector(s) used
Omega 8000 & Tesoro Cortes
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to the best Treasure site on the WWW! TONS of good information here, search, chat, you name it, you can more than likely find it one here.