newbie need help please

curious

Nov 16, 2009
I am new to metal detecting just got one for myself and daughter. Also had to get one for nephew who wants to hunt with us as well. I would also like to say how useful this site is, very informative and some great stories. Not really sure if i am posting this in the right spot but i live in kentucky. This is probably a dumb question but i don't know how to go about it. How does one get information on a property. I have a couple of places i can hunt that are relatives or friends of family. One is in hardin county has about a hundred acres and can also hunt 2 or 3 other farms in that area. The one property been told there are some kinda mounds on it. Also alot of arrowheads have been found mostly when it was farmed and field was plowed. Has not been farmed in about 5 years though. Another property i want to try to get some info on is leavenworth indiana. This property is a little outside of leavenworth but not in marengo. It is about 25 acres and has 2 newer houses on it. One built in 60's and other built last year. When they built the one last year the was a bunch of old bottles found when they dug the foundation. They looked like medicine bottles were glass and one still had a cork in it. There is also a old horse drawn wagon that is sitting on it. It is very grown up around it. I want to say maybe a tree going thru it also. The wagon tells me and bottles this property had something on it that you can no longer see today. I don't think any of these properties is some big cache but could be some old finds on it. Right now i have my kids interest they are both 14 by the way. Need to keep their interest if you know what i am saying. I can not get info from neighbors nobody knows much of anything around either of them.Anyone know how to get info on these properties or what to look for on them. Thanks for any help.

willie d

Silver Member
Jul 13, 2005
Close enough to the beach
Detector(s) used