Newbie needs help for choosing a detector for gold

al_pacino

Tenderfoot
Sep 1, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm a noob regarding the metal detectors, so please don't be too harsh with me. I need a detector to detect gold as accurate as possible at depths of at least 1,5-2 meters. The gold can be hidden in a ceramic pot, wood box, or under a big stone. The gold can be either coins or jewellery. My budget is limited to 1000-1500$. Any idea what detector should I buy? Thanks.

Upvote 0

luvsdux

Bronze Member
May 16, 2007
Lewiston, Idaho
Detector(s) used
Multiple Tesoros and Whites
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'd say you would need a two box, deep seeking cache or industrial detector as most general detectors won't go that deep.
luvsdux

OP
OP
A

al_pacino

Tenderfoot
Sep 1, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
But which would be the depth limit of a detector?

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Basically, your pooch is screwed. You can get to about a meter in depth with $6,000.00 (Minelab GPX 5000). You can get a two-box detector starting around $750.00 (Fisher Gemini), but that is probably a waste of money and time. Best of luck to you though.

DangerDude

Apr 6, 2013
Wisconsin
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Ace 250, BH IV, Fisher F2 and Garrett pro pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I've heard the Garrett 2500 with the treasure hound box is decent. I've never used one so you might want to go on the Garrett forum and ask around. Like the previous post, the GPX is probably the best you're gonna get. Good luck and make sure you post pics of that treasure you find !!!!

DangerDude

Apr 6, 2013
Wisconsin
Detector(s) used