Tenderfoot
Dec 8, 2013
State of Jefferson
Detector(s) used
Garret AT Gold
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello everyone!
I just purchased a Garret AT Gold and have been having a blast! I have been prospecting for a couple years with the standard traditional equipment, dredge, sluices, ect. However I have never had as much fun looking for gold as I have detecting and I still have not found any gold yet lol. Being new to detecting I'm a little overwhelmed by where to look for gold. I live in the Siskiyou Mountains of Nor Cal/Southern Oregon so my area has a history steeped in gold mining and gold is in the area. So far I have just been detecting riverbank/creekbank bedrock. I think out of habit because that's where I have always mined.

Would it be a bad idea to just take off on the hillsides above mountain streams/rivers detecting for gold? I know much of the gold in my area comes from the mountains before it eventually gets washed downhill and concentrated in the waterways. Would the eluvial gold that has not yet made it to the water be too sparse or deep to make hunting it with a detector worthwhile? Seems like intercepting it before it reaches areas that get worked over heavily would be a good tactic to pick up some gold. I want to hit the hills but seem to be reluctant to prospect outside my comfort zone. Any advice is much appreciated! Thanks guys.

Upvote 0

eric91m

Oct 29, 2013
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Not sure if its possible but head up Eddy Gulch or Whites gulch... you wouldn't be disappointed there. Just be sure to check the claim statuses. I know the heads have Lode claims and the tops of the gulches have had placer claims at one point, not sure if the placer claims are still active.

Avoid the very top of eddy gulch, its been mined out already.

OP
OP
D

Dr. Goldfever

Tenderfoot
Dec 8, 2013
State of Jefferson
Detector(s) used
Garret AT Gold
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting