Newbie requesting help

blackbird939

Feb 5, 2008
Alexandria Virginia
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejon
Hello forum,
I am new to the hobby, so new in fact that I have never owned a single detector, but I have read an entire book on the subject. Over the years I have pursued lesser hobbies keeping MD/relic hunting on my plate for a future time and locale. I actually moved to historic Alexandria City VA this month in part because I hoped that I could be in driving distance to relic hunting sites. As a child, a family friend once brought me a cannon fragment and bullets that he said he found in "the woods" of his Atlanta home. I am now ready and willing, and more eager than ever to find, even ONE single bullet fired in the civil war. I know it sounds crazy, but I would feel like the initial output of $$ would pay itself off with only a single find, verifiable to the CW. I want to perform the hours of relentless research and reading, and I have already begun, but what if you just wanted to just get in to it with a new machine? Is is there someone here, who would take me and my son to a known location (where we had permission) and show me the ropes? I would give that person ANYTHING I found. I just want to get into the hobby without buying the wrong rig and wasting time in the wrong pursuits. I have sent a membership check to the Northern Virginia Relic Hunters Association. So, together with this forum and others, I hope to realize a lifelong dream. If no one wants to mentor us, can anyone recommend a nice MD, specifically created for hunting relics? I have long wondered about streams NEAR known sites where a shallow water rig might bring up the goods. Even saw a youtube video of a guy pulling things up in waist deep water.
Any suggestions for motivated newbies is greatly appreciated.

Michael

Kas

Bronze Member
Jan 3, 2007
Detector(s) used
Mx sport
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting