ugunaeatthat?

Jun 22, 2012
Seabeck, WA
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello treasure hunters,

I'm new to rock hounding and have several pieces that I brought home even though I know next to nothing about each of them. I am supposed to be out there using my metal detector but keep getting sidetracked with the cool looking rocks in my path.
Here are 2 that I'm most curious about and I'm going to post several others shortly. I have never seen that color of blue in a rock before and am wondering how it came to be, also are those quartz crystals?
In the other rock it looks like elongated crystals kinda swirling around? I have never found another rock even close to this one and am hoping for some help identifying it.
Any info at all would be a huge help and much appreciated.
Thanks you guys.

strange rocks 004.jpg strange rocks 001.jpg strange rocks 002.jpg strange rocks 003.jpg

woof!

Bronze Member
Dec 12, 2010
ciudadano del universo, residente de El Paso TX
Detector(s) used
BS detector
Primary Interest:
Other
One on left is a shell fossil conglomerate. If you post the pic in the fossils forum and say where you found it maybe an expert can tell you more about it, for example what geological era it's from.

Ones on right, blues are most commonly associated with copper ores, so if it's a known copper mining region it's probably some kind of copper ore. In any case, someone here who's a well informed rockhound can probably give you a positive ID on it based on its very distinctive color and mottled appearance. .......Also, in the photo it looks like maybe the blue is a hard mineral coating on a rock of other composition: have you broken or chipped any of these to see if they're like that all the way through, or if the blue is only a coating? That might make a big difference in identification.