NEWBIE: Spectra V3i or Minelab E-Trac?

OmniAaron

Tenderfoot
Jan 5, 2018
Sewanee, TN
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello (new) friends!

I know this is a touchy subject (not trying to pick a fight), but I’m trying to do my due-diligence to buy my first metal detector—something I’ve wanted since childhood. My first instinct is that “you get what you pay for.”

I understand that the White’s Spectra V3i has a steep learning curve, and the Minelab E-Trac is commonly said to be ready out-of-the-box (yet other White’s users will say that it is, too, if you use the factory default settings).

Most often, it seems I hear that the E-Trac is the silver coin slayer, but how does it fare otherwise with relics, gold, etc.? On the other hand, is White’s Spectra truly capable of “anything” so long as you tweak the settings (that being the huge learning curve)?

Although I’m a beginner, I’m thinking one of these will satisfy long term, but I’d love feedback... And I suppose oftentimes it boils down to FINDS and LOCATION.

What do you think? Thanks.

-Aaron

digging440yrs

Gold Member
Dec 5, 2012
UPSTATE NEW YORK
Detector(s) used
1970 COMPASS-
WHITES SILVER EAGLE-
WHITES DFX, 4X6DD COIL, 6X8DD COIL, 950 COIL, 10X12SEF COIL-
GARRETT PRO POINTER AT, GARRETT AT PRO , MINELAB EXPLORER SE with 8.5x12.5 Cors coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome aboard---Both very good machines :icon_thumleft:

Tahts-a-dats-ago

Apr 30, 2014
NJ
Detector(s) used
Legend,
Anfibio multi,
Apex,
ORX,
Deus,
Vanquish 440
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome

I think only you can answer the question of which one is the right machine for you. Both are excellent machines, both can be fairly simple to run, and both have a learning curve.