N

nsbsurfer

yeah im new at this too. just got my ace garrett 250. gonna get some headphones this week. do i need certain digging tools for my back yard and on the beach? i live in new smyrna beach any good places to goto around here?

stevemc

Bronze Member
Feb 12, 2005
Sarasota, FL
Detector(s) used
Whites Surfmaster PI Pro and Whites Surfmaster PI, Minelab Excal NY blue sword. 2 White's Dual field pi, Garrett sea hunter pi II (but don't use it for obvious reasons) 5' x 3 1/2' coil underwater Pi
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
For the beach, on the dry sand a scoop with open mesh wire works best. There are many, and since you are in Orlando, there is a place, i cant think of it now, but it is a huge MD store. For the back yard and parks ,etc, a small thin garden shovel will work well. I sharpen the front edge some, so it will cut roots, but be careful you dont cut anything good! Or cable TV, phone or power lines. Those are usually deep, but be careful.

Ray S ECenFL

Silver Member
Feb 17, 2007
East Central Florida WP
Detector(s) used
Whites XLT / M6
After a few trips out you will not be a newbie any more. You will have to learn you detector, so read the book and practice...practice... practice..

The Orlando store would be Kelleyco Detectors.

Eveyone has their choice of digging tools. I use an small garden trowl and an ice pick. The point of the ice pick has been dulled down and I use it as a probe to locate coins. Then dig them up. Mainly at parks and camp grounds.

The beach will require a hand scoop. Many choices avialable, but I suggest the stainless ones, they last a bit longer and price difference is not that great.

Happy Hunting

mecke28

Greenie
Aug 5, 2007
Kissimmee,Florida
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting