No permission to metal detect

mextallion

Jan 13, 2014
porterville calif
Detector(s) used
Spectrum xlt x-terra master huntercx gemini3 sierra madre, v3i, tdi, gti2500
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been shopping for groceries for over 30 yrs at same market. The owners know me personally. A week ago they took dow a 6000 sq ft bldg that was built in 1960. I asked permission and after a day Mr Wong said his insurance prohibited my metal detecting there. The place has no do "DO NOT TRESPASS" Signs. I will bet another guy will detect with out asking permission. Thats a juicy place to metal detect. Being honest stops me from detecting a lot of good places.

Ammoman

Bronze Member
Oct 12, 2015
NC
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Nokta Impact, Tesoro Compadre..
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Some people are paranoid. We have lawyers to thank for that.

diggummup

Gold Member
Jul 15, 2004
Somewhere in the woods
Detector(s) used
Whites M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm sorry Mr. Wong, your lack of trust in me after 30 years of being your loyal customer, prevents me from shopping here any longer. Mr. Wong you vewy, vewy, wong.

Some people are paranoid. We have lawyers to thank for that.
It's the system that's screwed. Though I do agree, lawyers are scum.

Charlie P. (NY)

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2006
South Central Upstate NY in the foothills of the h
Detector(s) used
Minelab Musketeer Advantage Pro w/8" & 10" DD coils/Fisher F75se(Upgraded to LTD2) w/11" DD, 6.5" concentric & 9.5" NEL Sharpshooter DD coils/Sunray FX-1 Probe & F-Point/Black Widows/Rattler headphone
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Mr. Wong has probably lived in fear of someone claiming they stepped on a grape, got whiplash, and suing him. This happens.

So, the thought of you digging around on property he is liable for is equally worry some. Then kids see you there so they figure they can play there. One gets hurt. Lawyers circle like vultures.