noob from ohio lookin for some highbanking help

dieseltorkin

Oct 3, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello,
Been snoopin around the site here for a few months now. all the info on here is great!
I have a keene A52 with highbanker/dredge conversion and an A51 keene added to the end with a keene
P90 pump. I am new to all of this as of this past spring and i have been fighting setting up this machine since day one. I have tried just about every angle mentioned on the web adjusted water flow. never seem to get it just right. either riffles are too full or too much gets washed out the end. any and all advice would be great! thank for your input!

Goodyguy

Gold Member
Mar 10, 2007
Arizona
Detector(s) used
Whites TM 808, Whites GMT, Tesoro Lobo Super Traq, Fisher Gold Bug 2, Suction Dredges, Trommels, Gold Vacs, High Bankers, Fluid bed Gold Traps, Rock Crushers, Sluices, Dry Washers, Miller Tables, Rp4
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sounds to me like you have a classification problem. In Ohio most of the gold in the creeks is going to be smaller than 1/8"
Usually a lot smaller, down to micro size even.

Try running all your material through a 1/8" screen before feeding it through the highbanker sluice. That way your material will be of a more uniform size and it will be much easier to adjust your sluice accordingly. And you'll retain more gold.

As far as dredging into your highbanker goes, that is way more difficult of a challenge to get it set up properly to catch the fine gold when you're blowing it out due to the increased water flow coupled with many sizes of gravels that also tend to knock the fines out.