Noob Swinging In The Sandpile

OldGringo

Jun 19, 2015
Missouri City, Tx.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I was finally able to get out this morning with the new to me Ace 350. Being the total noob, I selected one of the area sand volley ball courts where I knew I wouldn't have to do any plug cutting. Due to the heat and humidity at 09:00 hrs. I only lasted about 45 minutes as it's getting HOT here in the Houston area! Tally for the short hunt was 3 bottle caps and 5 scraps of foil from energy drink packets. Several targets eluded me as all I had for digging was a garden trowel. I did however stop by the local feed store on the way home and picked up a feed scoop to drill out and make a "Poor Boy" sand scoop. This will get a lot easier with the correct tools. Will not bore you folks with photos of bottle caps as I'm sure you've dug a few yourselves.
Hopefully I'll have better reports in the not too distant future.
Regards,
OldGringo

(Admin, please relocate as applicable)

Upvote 8

releventchair

Gold Member
May 9, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other
Hey your in the game by swinging.
When it's hot, check around. Shade attracts folks to take advantage and on occasion drop something decent over the years.

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Congrats on getting off the bench and into the game. :occasion14: I love the heat, I just make sure I take a cooler of ice cold bottled water and spare batteris everytime I go out detecting.

Msbeepbeep

Gold Member
Jun 24, 2012
MA
Detector(s) used
M-6, pro pointer, pistol probe
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It's great your out swinging the 350 and finding stuff!

It will be easier & quicker with your new sand scoop.
I sometimes wrap a cold pack in a cloth around my neck while hunting in the heat.

Argentium

Gold Member
Feb 2, 2008
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Detector(s) used
Whites, MXT.