Now what...

Darshevo

Jun 16, 2010
Spokane, Wa
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Silver uMax, Fisher CZ-6a
Today I took my sluicing results and spent some time with them. Since I am still quite new to it I dropped a couple small sinkers in to kind of help me keep track of what I was doing. I also took my cons out of the bucket and then panned them into a masonry type mixing trough I had laying around so I wouldn't have to worry about carelessly losing something.

After some time I got it down to where it was mostly black sand. There are some quite bright flecks mixed in with it (1/2 the size of a grain of salt). I separated out the sand with a magnet and most of the flecks went along with it (there were still a few in the pan) I took what was left in the pan and placed it in a vial then put the sands into another vial until I know what my best way to proceed is.

Having watched tons of youtube videos where the take is sizable chunks of gold (rice kernal or so) I think I could comfortably pan that out now (no troubles keeping my sinkers in place)

In the picture the shiny specs in the top part of the pan left of the sinkers are what I am hoping are gold. The gold colored stuff in the bottom is just sand I didn't get panned out as I was starting to lose black sand with it when I was working it.

Attachments

• blacksand.jpg
    blacksand.jpg
    60.8 KB · Views: 396
Upvote 0

jog

Bronze Member
Nov 28, 2008
Tillamook Oregon
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT / GMT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Very hard to tell in that pic, but gold flakes and specks won't shine. They will be a dull yellow and once you see them you will know! Looks like you have got the heavy stuff figured out. If your panning over another pan and you cant lose any try taking it down all the way, even the smallest specs will be at the bottom. May be hiding under the sand. Good luck!

Astrobouncer

Jun 21, 2009