Nox not picking up silver

Moore$

Sep 22, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am new to detecting and have had my equinox 600 for about a year and a half now. I was getting to the point that i was pretty confident in the detector but recently the finds have dried up. Today i noticed that some nails are giving me very consistent tones and reading in the mid 20s with no iron tone at all. I dug one nail at about 5" and it read 22-23 so i laid a silver dime back in the empty hole and covered it up and can not pick it up. I then put a silver quarter in the hole and still nothing so i started playing with the single frequencies. In 5 and 10 it did pick it up with very soft drawn out tones and vdi ranging from the teens to high 30s. I have the current update and this was using the 6" coil. The detector still hits pull tabs and pennies very hard and accurately. Hopefully someone can help me here and let me know if this is operator error or if i have something wrong with my detector.

Forgot to add that i did do a factory reset just before starting any of this today and my testing on the silver coins was done in both park and both field modes with the same results.

Last edited:

nuggetdog

Jan 29, 2014
Utah
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I’m no expert by any means but have you made any adjustments in the advanced settings that might have weakened the machines ability to detect silver. If so then do a factory pre-set to see if that helps. The equinox loves silver so hope this helps.

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If you did a factory reset and it still won't hit on silver in a stock mode, something is wrong with the detector.

angelito1