SD51

Silver Member
Aug 24, 2016
MI
Detector(s) used
E-TRAC
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This might help... I've been detecting since 1977. Back then, the digging tool was a screwdriver since the detectors didn't detect deeper than 2 or 3 inches. As the detector depth capabilities improved, the digging tool became a trowel or shovel. The main reason you are seeing all the restricted counties is there are a certain group of people on this planet that don't care what they wreck, meaning they dig huge holes when detecting and either didn't fill in the hole or did a bad job of fixing the hole! It only takes a few to ruin it for everyone.

Here's the reason in writing for Plain Township in Ohio from your attachment:

Even though there are responsible people participating in this hobby, there are also many people who are not careful on how they replace the soil and turf.* Our biggest park has many sport fields that we rely on for the Parks Department income and budget each year.* These fields need to stay pristine.* Since it is hard to monitor who and where people metal detecting, we currently do not permit the hobby."

I have a local park here that I've been detecting since 1997, Last year they shut it down because of one blank hole digging holes and not filling them in.

Here's the sign posted in the park now...

Detecting Sign.jpg

I would suggest you start asking neighbors and friends for permission to detect their yards. I can recommend an appropriate method to gig a hole to recover a target without leaving any damage to the yard. Would be glad to help you out.

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2