oregon beginners

chelsea

Greenie
Apr 3, 2013
Well im new to metal detecting! I have this detector it was cheap called a bounty hunter and I live in the Willamette valley. Im having trouble finding places to hunt. So far the only place close to me was bald peak park that requires no permit and didnt find much. Wondering if anyone knows how to obtain permits and if there are any good spots to dig to get started on my new hobby! Please help me with any advice u can give thanks!

Upvote 0

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
Perhaps you found one park that requires "permits". But .... this is rare. You'll not find many counties and rarely ever cities, that have dreamed up such a thing. To find out if such a thing exists (or an outright prohibition), you can look up the entities muni codes, to see if there's anything that addresses metal detecting / detectors. If not .... then there's your answer: It must not be prohibited!

Here's a club in your area, and they would know more, where it's just common place activity:

Mike Higbee's Prospectors Cache - Metal Detecting Clubs - Olympic National Park

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
pennsylvania.gif
Welcome aboard from the great state of Pennsylvania!
reading_01.gif
You might consider browsing Sub-Forums: Oregon for information (i.e., clubs, hunts, finds, legends, maps, etc.) directly related to your state.

OP
OP
chelsea

chelsea

Greenie
Apr 3, 2013
Well I do know that bald peak doesnt require permits cause there is a section at the oregon dmv site that shows parks that require permits to search there. I just dont know how to get the permits cause it doesnt say.

OP
OP
chelsea

chelsea

Greenie
Apr 3, 2013
I guess something just historical or something of value like a ring or silver.

smugglersbluez

Jan 10, 2013
central Georgia
Detector(s) used