Ouestion on Batteries

N

NLINE SIXX

I was fooling around with the MD this afternoon in the yard and was operating the machine in coin mode. I kept getting a belltone signal and reading of a coin (quarter) about a inch away from the slab foundation showing a depth of 5 inches deep. So I dig down at least 6 inches never finding any coin or trash or anything with a fairly wide hole before it's over with and also checking the dirt I dug out of the hole for the goody. So I finally gave up trying to locate the coin and moved on, then all of a sudden my needle indicator stuck (I have a Garrett Grand Master Hunter CX II with a analog type display) so I turn off the MD and turn it back on again and needle indicator is still stuck toward the center. Now I'm thinking possibly the batteries are weak, but can't check them since indicator is stuck, so I go inside remove the batteries which it holds 6 C size and four them check out around 80% to the good and two of them show to be pretty much dead. My question is would real weak batteries give me a false signal indicating there's a coin there when it's not and will new batteries installed un-stick the meter because even with the batteries removed the needle indicator is still stuck about the center. I'm still pretty much a newbie at MD, I'll have too make a trip to Walmart tomorrow for a new set of batteries. ???

Upvote 0
OP
OP
N

NLINE SIXX

Well the new batteries did un-stick the needle ok so that was a relief. When they went dead it was all at once so keeping new spare sets on hand is a must. Took it out after the new batteries were installed and found a few coins in the yard.

NL6

dirtyknees

Jun 10, 2005
Northern Ohio
Detector(s) used
White coinmaster 6000/D GEB discrim