Over the hills and through the woods.....

ScubaFinder

Bronze Member
Jul 11, 2006
Tampa, FL
Detector(s) used
AquaPulse AQ1B - AquaPulse DX-200 Magnetometer
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
To GRANDMA's house we go??? We recently put both of my grandparents into a nursing home, and I was charged with cleaning up the house. I found three old jars of pennies...and of course brought them home to have a look. Over 200 Wheaties, 2 Indian Heads, and a strange penny later, I'm glad I did!

I'm most interested in this penny, it's a 1985D but it's completely colorless, shiny, but not copper I don't think. I'm new to this, but this looks like a penny that was accidentally struck out of nickel or something, possibly like an uncirculated steel penny, but I'm not aware of anything like that going on in 1985?? Any guesses?

1985d.jpg

Next is a jar filled with wheaties...not sure what these a worth, probably next to nothing, but there are over 200 of them and ALL are wheat pennys.

wheats.jpg

And last but not least, 2 indian head pennies in the jar with the strange silver looking penny - 1884 and 1899.

indians.jpg

Also found about 10 books of stamps, some from Germany from Hitlers 1000 year empire era, Every Wildlife Conservation series from 1960-1984, and more. A good day of hunting even though it was raining, I didn't have my detector, and was picking up dead rats in between treasure :D

Jason

Upvote 0
OP
OP
ScubaFinder

ScubaFinder

Bronze Member
Jul 11, 2006
Tampa, FL
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks