Paint Pot

quito

Silver Member
Mar 31, 2008
south dakota
Detector(s) used
good eyes
A friend of mine while pulling a drag to straighten or level off his gravel driveway ended up pulling this out of the ground. He knew I collected Indian rocks as he calls them and gave this to me a couple years ago. It is one of the nicest artifacts of this sort I have ever laid eyes on. Hope you enjoy.
DSCN1205.jpg

DSCN1204.jpg

Upvote 0
S

seger98

I'm new to the Indian Artifacts so forgive the question, but why is it a paint pot & not a mortar & pestle?

OP
OP
quito

quito

Silver Member
Mar 31, 2008
south dakota
Detector(s) used
good eyes
Seger98... Great question.

I don't want to appear to have all the answers, because I am far from that. This particular piece as you can see is black from the material that was ground in it. I believe a mortal that was used for grains or herbs or any other organic, would likely not retain any definitive color.

From what I have read, the natives that inhabited our area for a good while held a tradition that the females would paint a single black stripe on their foreheads when were eligible for marriage. Sooo, just maybe... this was the purpose of this artifact.

Joel

S

seger98

quito said:
Seger98... Great question.

I don't want to appear to have all the answers, because I am far from that. This particular piece as you can see is black from the material that was ground in it. I believe a mortal that was used for grains or herbs or any other organic, would likely not retain any definitive color.

From what I have read, the natives that inhabited our area for a good while held a tradition that the females would paint a single black stripe on their foreheads when were eligible for marriage. Sooo, just maybe... this was the purpose of this artifact.

Joel

Thanks for the answer, I guess that does sound very reasonable. Ok, so now what would they have ground to turn it black?

OP
OP
quito

quito

Silver Member
Mar 31, 2008
south dakota