Panning in Virginia

kmil10

Dec 30, 2012
Virginia
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Another newbie here with the fever. I was hoping for some tips on panning sites in Virginia. Been reading up on the gold mining history of Virginia. I live in Richmond area and eager to learn as much as I can about gold prospecting and metal detecting. Thanks also for this great resource....love reading the posts

Upvote 0

B H Prospector

Feb 2, 2010
Black Hills, South Dakota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi Kmil10,
welcome to the net and the beautiful golden world. You have already done yourself a favor by joining the forum as there are alot of knowledgable folks on here. Also you have been researching. Your next step should be to find a local prospecting or metal detecting club to join. There are no GPAA clubs in Virginia but 3 in WV. They are as follows: Larry Board 304-742-5097 Craigesville WV, Jim DeWeese 304-882-2578 New Haven WV, and Joe Smoot 304-972-1976 Nitro WV. Maybe one of them are close to you. I'm sure they will be helpful.

Good Luck!

B H Prospector

OP
OP
K

kmil10

Dec 30, 2012
Virginia
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thank you BH Prospector for the information. I joined the GPAA in November. I will be sure to reach out to a chapter nearest me as well as one of the folks listed to see if there a place near me to get my pan wet. Take care and thank you again

Ausquatcher81

Greenie
Jan 15, 2013
Hi Kmil10,

Newbie Prospector here as well and also just joined the GPAA. I live here in Va around the Charlottesville area. There is Central Virginia Gold Prospectors out of the Buckingham area as well as a GPAA chapter in Maryland that I joined recently thats 2.5 hrs from me and the ones in West Virginia that B H Prospector said. I know of a few places around here that are pretty good. Always down to getting some pans wet. Hope some of this info was helpful ;) Happy Prospecting!

OP
OP
K

kmil10

Dec 30, 2012
Virginia
Primary Interest: