PaJim

Dec 13, 2015
Detector(s) used
Land Ranger Pro
Whites coinmaster

Garret AT Propointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to the hobby, so please excuse any ignorance on my part... I just had a property owner contact me with several acres with old buildings, some already in ruin state. Sounds kind of promising depending on if it's been hit before or not. I of course asked what the buildings were, how many acres, and if it's been hunted before. The thing that threw me was that he asked how much I would pay per acre. Is this common? I understand why a property owner would want money for someone else to dig on their land, I was just curious if that is common practice. If it is common, how much do you pay?

Upvote 0

buzzhead

Sep 23, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Not common at all. I can understand a hunting lease but a detecting lease sounds ridiculous unless there is 100% proof there was loot buried there.

relic nut

Silver Member
Nov 29, 2014
VA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030 TELEKINETICS 4000 GARRET AT PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'd move on. There are more places to hunt. Some people only care about $$$. Thats his right, but I wouldn't be interested. We have several private property's that have CW history that we hunt and have put together presentation boxes with a few finds from the property, a few bullets and button or two. The owners love this and it keeps the history alive for the site. We do it because we choose to. Makes you feel good and keeps us in the owner's good grace's

HH, Relic Nut

Last edited:

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting