May 8, 2010
NC
Detector(s) used
whites GMT
tek.alpha2000
Nokta Fores Core
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been finding gold every time that I go out lately based on the info I read on the web and through expierences on my own from going out, and then using that info to dig my ass off and process material.
I'm still learning and going to ask stupid questions like this one. Are these pock marks or little craters in the quartz where gold once was or just where the quartz was attached to the host rock?

Attachments

• qu 004.jpg
    qu 004.jpg
    110.2 KB · Views: 4,090
Upvote 0

Goldwasher

Gold Member
May 26, 2009
Sailor Flat, Ca.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Bug 2 Burlap, fish oil, .35 gallons of water per minute.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
most likely just the way the silica solution cooled. pockets in side quarts veins are the home of sweet crystals.

OP
OP
eureka77

eureka77

May 8, 2010
NC
Detector(s) used
whites GMT
tek.alpha2000
Nokta Fores Core
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thank ya. Wass always curious

Astrobouncer

Jun 21, 2009
Most likely those cavities once contained softer minerals that were easily dissolved by acidic water, unlike quartz which is very tough. Fluorspar for example or calcite, but there's countless other options as well. Those crystals are good omens, I find much quartz up near Vein Mtn just like that. And another spot that has gold here in SC also has such rocks. I will try to post some pics of the ones I got when the sun comes out.

dave wiseman

Jul 23, 2004
Angels Camp,Ca.
Looks like where the iron pyrites were..note the rusty brown..and you'll notice in your pickings that many of the cavities are squarish,where the cubes once were.

Bunk

Nov 28, 2006
AZ
Detector(s) used
ML 4000-ML X70
dave wiseman said:
Looks like where the iron pyrites were..note the rusty brown..and you'll notice in your pickings that many of the cavities are squarish,where the cubes once were.