Possible flint lock pistol barrel today.

Helix

Bronze Member
Jul 27, 2013
Detector(s) used
Garrett gti 2500, Whites DFX
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Found this today was told it be a slim chance it is a possible flint tock pistol barrel. I posted it under Today's. Finds also. image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

Upvote 5

plugcutter84

Oct 6, 2013
Maryland
Detector(s) used
Garrett at pro
Fisher 1265x
Teknetics T2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Very cool! I'm no expert but the octagonal shape makes it a very good possibility. Also, the way it's split almost looks like it could have blown up when it was fired. What kind of area did you find it in? Field, woods, backyard...?

OP
OP
Helix

Helix

Bronze Member
Jul 27, 2013
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Scrap..? Or a gun barrel ?

danimal03

Feb 13, 2012
Tennessee
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I normally do not chime in unless I am sure of something. However since there are not a lot of posts here I figured I would weigh in. I do see the threads in the 2nd pic. the 'barrel' looks octagonal in nature and real thick. I personally think it may have originally been an octagonal rifle barrel like from an early 'Kentucky' rifle that may have been cut down and was attempted to be made into a pistol. Then it blew when fired. I dug a complete octagonal barrel out of a gold camp where they were using it as a breaker bar. it too is massively thick walled like yours is. Mine still had bird shot in it that was encased in packed mud. People of long ago tried to repurpose all sorts of stuff and I have seen bizarre conversions of old weapons.

I am not 100% of your ID. But lean towards gun related. I personally have never seen such a thick walled barrel on a pistol which is why I am suggesting the possibility it may have come from a rifle. Just my humble opinion.

Last edited:

Ahab8

Gold Member
Oct 15, 2013
Topsham, Maine
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used