Problem with Ace 250?

jbessl9497

Jul 28, 2012
Loganville GA
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Garrett Propointer
Hello everyone I am brand new to this truly addictive hobby and I am well...addicted. I go detecting every bit of spare time I get. I do have one issue though. When I am in places with a lot of nails my Ace 250 will sometimes sound a strong bell tone as if it a coin. I dig the hole and all I find is a stupid nail :BangHead: I then pick my detector up and resweep the whole expecting it to give another bell tone telling me that the nail just happened to be in the same hole as a coin. This time no tone at all. :BangHead: I wave the nail in front of the coil and no tone (discriminated out.) I close the hole up and resweep in confusion, nothing. So my question is why would my detector give a bell tone on a nail which should be discriminated but then only give a silent iron reading when I do an air test? Just so you know the sensitivity is on the factory setting. Has anybody else had this issue?

sonofadigger

Bronze Member
Apr 22, 2012
SOMEWHERE
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
MINELAB E-TRAC MINELAB SAFARI TEKNETICS OMEGA 8000 GARRETT AT PRO GARRETT PRO POINTER VIBRA PROBE 580
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
only dig good repeatable signals until you can learn the difference it might make a sound one way but not the other

releventchair

Gold Member
May 9, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other
I do not own a 250 . The nails i have ring up coins are usually bent,(roundish like a coin) ,i consider it part of the game. Usually i run in jewelry mode and dig pull tabs. Try son of a diggers approach of checking target from different angles and see if readings change. Have fun. There comes a time when you can call some finds, but the iffy signals you leave could be some one else's pay out!.

Talon

May 18, 2012
NE Ohio
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac, Minelab Excal 800, Minelab Excal II, Tesoro Tigershark, Garrett ACE 250, Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting