Question as a newbie

BILLMCSE

Greenie
Apr 8, 2011
Greetings all. New to the game, I've been searching and digging for a couple of months now. Starter type of rig with a Garrett Ace 250. But I just purchased an EQ2 coil to get better depth (hoping) and a garrett pinpointer. The pinpointer is awesome.

Anyway, I live near an area that was established around 1832. In the park nearby there used to be an Indian village way back when. Alot of it was farmland as well. My question is a general one that probably has no real concrete answer but I'd love to get any and all opinions. Like I said, I'm new to digging. Is there a general "depth gauge" to know how far down an item might be from a certain time period?

DigginThePast

Gold Member
Dec 31, 2008
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to T-Net BILLMCSE. :icon_thumright:

I can tell you from my experience that often times things just don't make sense. Last year a friend found a Seated Dime about 2" down and I found a 60's Nickel at 6". I remember that one so well since I still hear about it. :D Anyway, speaking about my area, soil make up can vary a lot in a small area, plowing for crops, freeze/thaw cycles, even burrowing animals can all work together to make us scratch our heads on some digs.

At the same time, if you want to pull out 200 year old coins you most likely are going to need a machine with some good depth. I know I won't, even in general terms, say that a given depth will indicate a given period in history. Others may feel differently.

OP
OP
B

BILLMCSE

Greenie
Apr 8, 2011
That's kind of what I thought but I wanted to throw it out there and get opinions. Thanks for the reply. I'd guess that generally speaking, something from 150 years ago would be too deep for my setup to detect.

DigginThePast

Gold Member
Dec 31, 2008
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
BILLMCSE said: