Question for PA MD hunters

BowmanPa

Jun 3, 2013
Millerstown, PA
Detector(s) used
Just Bought MXT PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am new to Metal Detecting and I am yet to buy my first machine but my question is where or how do you find out about where it is Legal to use a Metal Detector in PA?

I know it is a dumb question. I know you could ask people to hunt on their Property but how do you deal with finds on there? Do you give it to them or split the findings?

Thanks,
BowmanPa

sceptre

Greenie
May 21, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You can md on some state parks but you have to ask each one.
Check here for state parks you are interested in and contact them. PA*DCNR*-*Pennsylvania State Parks

The general rule is that you can't use a shovel or turn over turf. You are supposed to use small tools. I take that to mean you can use a hori-hori garden knife or screw driver. Rules here - Pennsylvania

I'm using the method this shown in this video.
skip to 5.25 minutes to see how to use the knife

Public parks are also legal to md on.

State Game Lands are illegal for md

Jay In NewKen

Jun 24, 2012
New Kensington, Pa
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Ace 250, Pro-Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Not all public parks allow detecting. Check city codes and ordinances and/or park rules and regs first.

fishguy

Jun 20, 2013
Little River, SC
Detector(s) used
Nokta Simplex+
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting