Question on mxt pro?

Treasureman25

May 30, 2013
Wisconsin
Detector(s) used
Mxt pro, coinmaster gt, bounty hunter
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi im new to detecting. Well the new detectors that is. I've used an old coinmaster 6000 before but now want to upgrade. I am going to place an order for the mxt pro soon. I've decided I want to get the 9.5 coil for the trashy areas. Now here's my question. I plan on hunting some caches, hoards, ect. I want to read as deep as possible into the ground. I'm seeing that I can get a 21x17sef coil compatable with the mxt pro. I've been unable to find anyone or really any good info on this coil setup with the mxt pro. What can you tell me about it? Also while using a coil like this will I still be able to see coins say in the first 5 or 8 inches of soil?

P.s. I'm from Wi where we obviously get a lot of frost in the winter. Some are trying to tell me any jars of coins or bigger items will be pushed up closer to the surface over time. Have you ever heard this?

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have read of caches being pulled toward the surface but can't say if its true or not. Seems most would be buried deeper. I think you would be happier with a lot smaller coil than the 9.5 for trashy areas. I haven't seen any reports on the larger coils for the MXT so I can't comment on them.

christo000

Silver Member
Mar 17, 2013
mass North Attleboro
Detector(s) used
Xp Deus,m-6 pinpointer, technetics t2ltd (had, whites v3i,minelab xterra 705,atpro,prism 4,sunray probe minlabe profind,garret propointer, f75ltd and many more)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting