questions about the Lost Dutchman

rebel003

Feb 17, 2011
Winston, Georgia
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Gents,
I not new to gold mining but I am new to treasure hunting per say. I grown up knowing of the legend and the show has intrigued me, Hopefully I can gain some knowledge.
I have a couple questions concerning Mr. Waltz and the gold he had. Does anyone know what type of gold he brought back to town? Nuggets or gold ore? And about how much was said to have been recovered by Mr. Waltz? How many years was Mr. Waltz bring this gold back to town?
My reasons for asking are:
First, if the mine is a load mine then the ore would have to be transported to a smelting plant to extract the gold before he could spend it around town. This would require wagons to transport not just a couple of pack mules, defiantly not carrying it by hand on mountain trails.
Second, is you then could gauge the approximate the amount of tailing that would be left at the mine site. Also how much ore could one man mine by hand over that time frame?
Third, if the gold were nuggets then most likely this was a placer gold find. Which would be much easier to recover pack out and leaving little or no signs of tailing behind for someone to discover.

Azquester

Bronze Member
Dec 15, 2006
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Gents,
I not new to gold mining but I am new to treasure hunting per say. I grown up knowing of the legend and the show has intrigued me, Hopefully I can gain some knowledge.
I have a couple questions concerning Mr. Waltz and the gold he had. Does anyone know what type of gold he brought back to town? Nuggets or gold ore? And about how much was said to have been recovered by Mr. Waltz? How many years was Mr. Waltz bring this gold back to town?
My reasons for asking are: