Really!?

Mr.1916

Mar 2, 2016
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350
Whites M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Honestly I've been detecting for only a few years now (I detect in Minnesota). Is it just me or are the coins 1ft+ deep! It is crazy because I tried to buy a new coin 4.5 Inch Garrett Ace Puck coil. So far it has been working Amazingly but a 1982 penny is at LEAST 4 in down, is this normal in Southern of Western states? Or is the Minnesota soil to soft? I detected a 1852 home and is was wonderful it had a concrete footing for stepping off you horse carriage and even know it was 1852 the oldest coin I found was a 1942 Mercury dime. Are those time period coins 15+ inches deep or what, well hopefully you guys can school me on this so I know for myself and any opinion matters, Thanks

Good Luck And Happy Hunting :hello2:

Scrappy

Gold Member
Mar 6, 2014
17th century
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030 & XP Deus
Primary Interest:
Other
I know your pain. I recently hunted a property I've been trying to get for a year dating to 1685, and found very little. It's a crapshoot and you must take it with a "grain of salt". I've searched many historic and federally protected sites (legally) and have never (yet always) surprised by what I find and don't find. That said...

The site may have been hit already, legally or not, and may be empty. I've seen that.

The site may have had extensive fill or topsoil. I've seen that, up to 12"...

The site may have been turned over, where the good stuff could be at any level. I've seen that....

People drop great relics. That's a fact! Listen for deep tones, dig everything, and have fun.

The next permission with killer finds may not be this one, but the next.....

Cheers for a great question.

Steve

Muddyhandz

Bronze Member
Jul 1, 2012
In da bush
Detector(s) used
Fisher's 1266X, 1270X & 1280X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting