Relic vs Coin hunting

TXDIRTFISHER

Dec 11, 2007
San Antonio, TX
Detector(s) used
F75LTD / Tejon
I'm fairly new to t'hunting and I have a few questions:

I've read that some detectors are geared more towards relic hunting vs. coint shooting, and some detectors are better for coins vs. relic hunting. One question is what is the difference between the two? (relic vs coin) You are looking for something made of metal in the ground.....would it matter what type of detector you had? Can one detector cover both types of hunting sufficiently? I'm sort of confused about this. Input would be appreciated.

Relic hunting and coin hunting are pretty much two different beasts. A coin hunter is looking for, well, COINS!, and they dont particularly want to dig a bunch of iron and other misc crap. In the U.S. that means a "good" coin hunting detector also has good "discrimination" . This means that the detector will "see" the other non-coin type metals in the ground and "ignore" them by not indicating that the target is there. Of course, as most of the good coin hunters will tell you, you are missing alot by doing this as the deeper the target the less effective any kind of ID on a discrim machine works. DEEP coins sound just like iron or whatever else is 14 inches deep. Some even argue that OLD coins are, in fact, relics.

Relic hunters are looking for anything old and of historic significance, from lead to iron (mostly iron it seems ;). Depth and sometimes target seperation becomes more of an issue for the relic hunter. You pretty much want the machine to sound off on anything in the ground, not ignore it, and decide what to dig or not to dig.

There are plenty of machines out there that do both pretty well, and I would recomend buying one of these so not to limit yourself to one type of hunting.

Thats a pretty good explaination RebelLT...