Request for help in identifying object found near Ohio River

jefrenshaw

Tenderfoot
Jul 12, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Good morning, everyone.

Yesterday I purchased the little guy in the attached picture. I bought him from a main in Jeffersonville, IN who said that he found him near the banks of the Ohio River. He said that he spoke with officials at the Falls of the Ohio State Park and that he was told that it is likely a Hopewell Rain God from around the 6th century AD. Unfortunately, the interpretation center at the Park is closed for renovation until fall, so I'm not able to speak with them myself.

Any idea what this could be? He seems like he's in awfully nice shape to be 1,400 years old. Also, any advice about where I can go in the southern Indiana / Louisville, KY area to get an expert opinion?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me. I'm new to treasure hunting.

Jeff

Attachments

• IMG_0123.JPG
    IMG_0123.JPG
    161.2 KB · Views: 176
  • IMG_0132.JPG
    IMG_0132.JPG
    147.1 KB · Views: 153
  • IMG_0125.JPG
    IMG_0125.JPG
    210.3 KB · Views: 163
  • IMG_0126.JPG
    IMG_0126.JPG
    191.6 KB · Views: 154
  • IMG_0127.JPG
    IMG_0127.JPG
    186.2 KB · Views: 132
  • IMG_0128.JPG
    IMG_0128.JPG
    187.9 KB · Views: 137
  • IMG_0130.JPG
    IMG_0130.JPG
    160.8 KB · Views: 146
  • IMG_0131.JPG
    IMG_0131.JPG
    176.7 KB · Views: 145
  • IMG_0133.JPG
    IMG_0133.JPG
    111.9 KB · Views: 137
  • IMG_0134.JPG
    IMG_0134.JPG
    129.1 KB · Views: 139
Last edited:
Upvote 0

ARC

Gold Member
Aug 19, 2014
Tarpon Springs
Detector(s) used
JW 8X-ML X2-VP 585
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Somehow I missed the word "bought" before posting the statement I jus deleted.

If real... then... "wow". :)

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used