Romano British site first recce

Limey-digger

Jan 17, 2015
Roamin with the Romans
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Today I finally gained access to some land that I have been researching for about 3 years. I have secured permission to detect the land as soon as the wheat crop has been harvested. Today was a kind of eyes only field walk around the boundaries. No old gold or coins today but the surface finds of Roman tile fragments and pottery sherds with some medieval glazed ware sherds have me chomping at the bit to get into the field. Don't think my wife will be seeing me much over the next few months as I am going to be out there rain or shine at all times of day.
Here is a link to a previous post of mine that outlines a bit of research on the site and why I am so excited about this one. http://www.treasurenet.com/forums/x-marks-spot/469705-romano-british-villa-site-discovery.html

George.

P.S final photo is local field being harvested today the first of the year and a sign that the season is about to kick off

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    124.2 KB · Views: 80
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    378.3 KB · Views: 75
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    560.5 KB · Views: 82
Upvote 5

Westfront

Silver Member
Jun 15, 2010
Germania Secunda
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The cropmarks look a bit odd, but very promising. Wish you luck on that site and hope it isn't hunted by nighthawks. A field with cropmarks like these, available on Bing or Google would be emptyyyy here....

thrifty76now

Silver Member
Mar 18, 2009
Sunman Indiana
Detector(s) used
Whites XLT MINELAB SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
All I can say is go for it and let us know of the results.Good luck to you.

CRUSADER

Gold Member
May 25, 2007
ENGLAND
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II v0.6 with 11" Coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting