Rookie - What do you think about these places to start?

mik500

Greenie
Nov 19, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello

I am a beginner and I would like to a ask the experts if they would go the first time digging and panning in one of this places? 5 km away from these places there was a gold mine

rock.jpg rock1.jpg

Thank you very much

Mike

Upvote 0

63bkpkr

Silver Member
Aug 9, 2007
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XLT, GMT, 6000D Coinmaster
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What kind of a gold mine, placer, hardrock, vertical shafts, horizontal shafts??........63bkpkr

B H Prospector

Feb 2, 2010
Black Hills, South Dakota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to the net Mik500.
That looks like good river washed rock but kind of hard to tell for sure by the pics. If it is do sone sampling first in several places there before you get too involved. No sence wasting time on dead ground. With a mine near by this could be good placer deposits.

Good Luck!

B H Prospector

OP
OP
M

mik500

Greenie
Nov 19, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What kind of a gold mine, placer, hardrock, vertical shafts, horizontal shafts??........63bkpkr

Hi

It was a big placer mine from Roman times

Thank you

OP
OP
M

mik500

Greenie
Nov 19, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to the net Mik500.
That looks like good river washed rock but kind of hard to tell for sure by the pics. If it is do sone sampling first in several places there before you get too involved. No sence wasting time on dead ground. With a mine near by this could be good placer deposits.

Good Luck!

B H Prospector

Hi B H Prospector

Next weekend I will do a sampling with my new pan :)

Here is another photo with more detail

rock2.jpg

Thank you very muck for your advice

Regards

TerryC

Gold Member
Jun 26, 2008
Yarnell, AZ
Detector(s) used