Scratches on lunar meteorite slice

bapowellphys

Tenderfoot
Jun 22, 2023
Hi all,
I just acquired a gorgeous lunar meteorite slice (NWA 15373) and I notice it has a multiple fine scratches to its surface. On one side these are parallel (but following a curved path) suggesting they were the result of the cutting process? (There is also uneven shine on this face).

2.jpg

On the other side, the lines are more randomly arranged, though tend to follow a similar direction:

1.jpg

Since I spent a decent chunk of change on this specimen, I'm mostly wondering whether this is something that can be expected or whether this is suggestive of poor preparation, care, etc.

Secondly, is there anything that I can do to polish out these scratches? I'm an amateur with no specialized knowledge or tools.

Thanks for your help!

Brian

Red-Coat

Gold Member
Dec 23, 2019
Surrey, UK
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thatā€™s a good-sized lunar specimen.

For sure the parallel curved marks in the first picture will be from a circular lapidary saw. Usually these marks arise from the blade slowing or stalling if too much pressure is applied, such that the cut is uneven. The blade needs to be allowed to do the work in a slow and steady manner

The marks in the other picture donā€™t look like saw marks. I would guess that the cut was going well until either the blade or the specimen slipped, or the last part of the specimen gave way before the blade reached it. That can result in a ā€˜snapā€™ which leaves a very uneven surface on that partā€¦ and it looks like an attempt has been made to flatten it with something abrasive.

Regarding removal of these marks, the questions are: can you?; and should you?