Seriously making money

GrizzlyGremlin

Nov 17, 2012
Who here makes money from prospecting? I didn't say a lot but who covers costs? I am a prospector in NH and have recently as dec 18th been finding good chunkier gold. This has been getting my blood going and rolling my gears because i am moving to steamboat springs colorado in just over a year from now. First off i know its possible to find more than a flake or two within a hour or two of steamboat but i do not know directly how to do it. I studied environmental science and policy in college and despised the policy but i focused in glacial geomorphology and periglacial geology this makes gold prospecting all the more intriguing....
I know people who do ok dredging but is that the best way to process material? I use a proline 3' sluice to comply with state regs( that tells u kinda where i am but its cool there are 100s of people prospecting where i do) but what i do is just sample and i still can run over 1 ton per day.
Im looking to invest into a small op to run because i am 1 addicted to gold and 2 am going to have 5 months to flyfish and prospect as soon as i get to colorado. I have friends who live in steamboat and my prospecting partner is moving there just before me. We have the opportunity to do nothing but prospect and fish and the gold is more exciting to me. Even with the small amount left in the northeast and believe me you have to work hard for it.

Im having very much difficulty finding a highbanker that can process the amount of material that i want to run. I like the heckler fabrications 810 but it seems inexpensive for its features. The keene and proline offerings are ok but i like the heckler idea for volume. What about combo banker dredges? Mini trommels? Im fairly lost. I know the size of the gold i will be hunting will be small so want the best recovery but want volume as well im very stumped with what to do.